Annual Prize Distribution Ceremony 2018

On Wednesday 10th October 2018 the Grosvenor community of pupils, staff, parents, Governors and invited guests, including guest-of-honour Mr. Derek Baker, Permanent Secretary for the Department of Education, congregated at the nearby Orangefield Presbyterian Church to celebrate another year of all-round achievement at its annual Prize Distribution Ceremony.

Following speeches from outgoing Chair of the Board of Governors Mr. Alan McVeigh and Principal Dr. Frances Vasey, delivering her fourth Principal’s Report, memorable performances from the School’s Chamber and Senior Choirs, of: ‘Be Still My Soul’ by Jean Sibelius, specially arranged by Jonathan Rea; ‘How can I keep from singing?’ by Robert Lowry, arranged by Sarah Quartel; and ‘The Defining Moment’ by Pinkzebra - each conducted by Head of Music Miss Rosemary Foster, with fellow Music teacher Mr Jonathan Arnold on accompaniment - not to mention the distribution of prizes itself, the ceremony concluded with a succinct, entertaining and captivating speech from guest-of-honour Mr. Baker, which succeeded in thoroughly engaging all in attendance and provided the perfect conclusion to an enjoyable afternoon of recognition and celebration.

The academic year 2017-2018 was one of huge attainment in Grosvenor, with the school enjoying notable successes in academic, sporting and musical areas, to name just a few; to this end its 2018 Prize Distribution Ceremony provided fitting recognition of its continued achievements and accomplishments in a range of curricular, co-curricular and extra-curricular activities. 

Well done to everybody at Grosvenor on its incredible success over the past twelve months - all within the school are already looking forward to celebrating further achievements, from the current academic year, come October 2019.

Grosvenor Grammar School Principal Dr. Frances Vasey and Guest Speaker Mr. Derek Baker, Permanent Secretary for the Department of Education, pictured alongside a selection of trophy winners following the School's annual prize distribution ceremony on the afternoon of Wednesday 10th October.