Belfast Area Squads Hockey Selection

Congratulations to Grosvenor’s female hockey players Hannah Murphy (Form 4), Emma McDowell (Form Five), Lois Hagen (Lower Sixth) and Hannah Blair (Form Five), each of whom achieved selection to represent the Belfast Board area team earlier in the season.

Hannah Murphy’s selection to the Under 15 squad and that of Emma, Lois and Hannah Blair to the Under 17 age group came following a selection process that saw sixty initial hopefuls whittled down a select group of twenty, and then a final squad of sixteen players.

Once selected the squads themselves competed in their competitions at Lisnagarvey training grounds towards the end of March; in the case of the Under 17 squad, which three of the girls were members of, they competed admirably, drawing two of their matches but, unfortunately, losing the other two.

Well done to all four of Grosvenor’s pupils on their selection to these prestigious squads and we look forward to following the fortunes of the School’s hockey teams again net season.

Left to right: Hannah Murphy, Lois Hagen, Hannah Blair and Emma McDowell, flanked by Principal Dr Vasey and Head of Girls' P.E. Mrs McIlvenny, who were recently selected to represent the Belfast Area Hockey squads at Under 15 and Under 17 level respectively