GGS Senior Girls' hockey and netball Awards Dinner

On the evening of Wednesday 13th April Grosvenor’s senior female sporting stars congregated at ‘Speranza’ restaurant in Belfast where they celebrated the conclusion of another season for the School’s hockey and netball teams.

The evening saw a number of awards distributed, with winners on the night including: NETBALL Lisa Purdy (Form Four ‘A’ Player of the Year), Bethany Patterson (Form Four ‘B’ Player of the Year), Holly Martin (Form Five ‘A’ Player of the Year), Hannah Murphy (Form Five ‘B’ Player of the Year), Emily Malcolm (Senior ‘A’ Player of the Year) and Niamh Bell (Senior ‘B’ Player of the Year); HOCKEY Claire McKane (Under 15 'A' Player of the Year), Jordyn Lindsay (Under 15 ‘B’ Player of the Year), Jenna Reid (Under 15 ‘A’ Most Improved Player), Erin Wylie (Under 15 ‘B' Most Improved Player), Kathryn Nelson (Services to Under 15 hockey), Emily Lane (2nd XI Player of the Year), Erin Whitla (2B XI Player of the Year), Olivia Lockhart (2nd XI Most Improved Player), Emma McDowell (1st XI Player of the Year) and Ellen McKirgan (1st XI Most Improved Player).

Well done not only to all of the girls who were recipients of awards on the night, but to all of those pupils in attendance who have represented the School’s senior netball and/or hockey teams with such dedication throughout the season.

In addition the event was also attended by the various coaches of each sport, with teachers Mrs McIlvenny, Mrs Kirk, Mrs Hunter, Mrs Waterworth and Miss Knox, as well as fellow coaches and former pupils Amanda Simpson, Rachel Cullen and Claire Todd also present.

Well done to all involved and we look forward to following the fortunes of the GGS hockey and netball teams again next season.

The GGS 'Leavers' - Upper Sixth netballers and hockey players who will be heading for pastures new in September at this year's end-of-year awards dinner at Speranza restaurant.