Junior Certificate Prize-giving Ceremony 2015

The morning of Thursday 25th June saw Grosvenor stage one of its calendar highlights in the form of the annual Junior Certificate Prize-giving Ceremony, held for all pupils in forms 1 – 3 in the School’s William Moles Hall.

The ceremony provides an opportunity for the School to celebrate academic, co-curricular and extra-curricular success amongst its pupils in Forms 1 – 3 each year. As well as all members of Form Three receiving their Junior Certificates in recognition of their achievements in the recent end-of-year summer examinations, notable awards were also distributed in recognition of pupils’ achievements in the fields of, amongst others: Sport, Drama, the Environment and Home Economics.

This year’s ceremony offered the opportunity to recognize a number of significant achievements within the School, as evidenced by James McMaster receiving the ‘Individual Prize for Boys Athletics in Junior School’ following his silver medal placing at this year’s Ulster Schools’ Championships, Katie Russell claiming the ‘Second Form Girls’ Netball Player of the Year’ award after being selected onto the Under 13 Belfast Area squad earlier in the season, and Peter McCreery securing the ‘Grosvenor Cricketer of the Year’ trophy following his selection to represent the Northern Cricket Union (N.C.U.) on their tour of South Africa over Easter, as well as in a series of upcoming fixtures over the summer period.

Following an informative speech from the School’s Principal Dr Frances Vasey, which detailed the extensive achievements of pupils within junior school over the past year, the ceremony was concluded with an engaging and inspirational talk from Guest of Honor Mr Neil Doak, Ulster Rugby Head Coach, who captivated all present whilst offering advice regarding success and, specifically, the qualities and sacrifices required in order to achieve it.

Many thanks to Mr Doak for taking time out of his busy schedule to serve as Guest Speaker at this year’s ceremony; his wise words will no doubt have inspired many of those pupils present to aspire for further success over the coming years. Well done also to each of those pupils whose achievements were recognized at this year’s event; the School now looks forward to celebrating further Junior School successes for the academic year 2015/2016 this time next year.

The top six academic achievers in third form, pictured alongside their Form Tutors and Head of Year, as well as Guest of Honour Mr Neil Doak and Principal Dr. Frances Vasey, from left to right: Ciara Irvine, Owen Hamilton, Peter McCreery, Rachel McConkey, Lisa Purdy and Lucy Hamilton

All of the trophy and prize winners from this year's Junior Certificate ceremony following the event on Thursday 25th June